It's me. Just me.

yay.
new - ARCHIVES - profile - notes - email - host

Give me my weenie
<<2007-09-04 - 3:28 p.m.>>

Man's Giant Weenie Stolen

A South Carolina man would like his enormous wiener returned.

Loyd Ardrey, who owns the Ebenezer Grill in Rock Hill, about 20 miles south of Charlotte, N.C., came in to open up Wednesday morning when he discovered that the 12-foot-long smiling hot dog sign on top of the restaurant was missing.

"We looked around, and it wasn't in any yards next door or across the street or anything," Ardrey told the Charlotte Observer.

Turns out there's a giant hot dog thief on the loose.

"It was evident that the screws had been taken out," said Rock Hill Police Lt. Jerry Waldrop.

The aluminum sign, which weighs 35 pounds and cost about $750 to make and install, recently replaced a similar wooden sign that had hung above the popular diner since the 1960s.

"We've got a lot of professional offices nearby, and they use that when people are asking how to get to their office," Ardrey said. "They'll say, 'Do you know where the big weenie is?'"

Locals are all steamed up over the missing dog and bun.

"Dog-gone," regular customer Doug Morton said. "People will steal anything nowadays."

Ardrey is hopeful it was only taken as a prank.

"I'm expecting some mother to go out in the yard or in the garage and say, 'Hey, you've got to take this sign back,'" he told the Observer.

Ardrey had been planning to print up bumper stickers reading "Ebenezer Grill � Look for the Big Weenie," he told the Herald.

It appears police will have to take that suggestion to heart.

And the best part of the entire article...

"I just want my weenie back," Ardrey lamented.

<< - >>

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: