It's me. Just me.

yay.
new - ARCHIVES - profile - notes - email - host

The pitter patter of little feet
<<2007-10-15 - 10:56 a.m.>>

So, I know it's been a while since I've blogged, and I apologize. Life being what is it is inhibits the blogging priority on occasion. So, here I am, returning to the fold.

I'm returning to the days of blogging during class. It actually helps me focus. (No, it doesn't, that's what I keep telling myself so that I won't feel guilty) When I sit down, I notice that the guy sitting next to me is holding his forehead and his eyes are closed. I ask him, "Are you ok, man?" His response is, "I'm sleepy." And then he continues on to tell me something that I will never forget. "I shaved my dog last night and he climbed into bed with me and wanted to snuggle all night."

I had no intelligent response to that.

I've decided that my goal now is to speak out when I think of random things. (of course I don't always have the guts to do this) My reasoning is that if you can't be right, at least be entertaining.

Allow me to tell you a little story now.

I live in a trailer. A 20 year old trailer. Ever since I moved in at the beginning of March, there were some soft spots in the floor near the air conditioner. My brother came to drop of their dog for me to babysit for a week and almost fell threw the floor as he was walking through. When he spoke to my parents about it, this is what he said, "Denise lives in a dump." Under normal circumstances, I would think that he was referring to the way that I chose to live my life in terms of cleanliness and orderliness. However, my mother, knowing this, asked what he meant, and he was in fact, referring to the state of the house itself and what I had to live in.

Upon the encouragement of my parents (because I didn't want to bother the grandparents with house woes, you see, to me this was only temporary, even if it was for a couple of years), I called my grandfather to inform him of my floor issue. My grandmother came over and examined. She said that this needed to be fixed and this is what resulted from that:






Yes, my dear friends, that brown on the bottom of the hole is THE GROUND! That's dirt with all sorts of creatures digging in it.

My uncle, my dear uncle, got too busy after this hole was made in my floor. He nailed a plank across it and therefore I had an open floor for about 2 months. 2 months!!!

You can only imagine the life that came up through that hole into the human portion of the house. I found myself designating a certain shampoo bottle to be used as the mutant bug killer. You see, there was this race of bugs that had mutated from the bodies of crickets and roaches. It was the grossest execution in that squishing these bugs sent a far-reaching spray of milky-white, black, speckled fluid.

I could deal with the bugs. Any day now my floor would be sealed up and then I wouldn't have to deal with this anymore. It wasn't until I was in my bathroom, doing what I do, and saw out of the corner of my eye, a mouse skitter across the floor.

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

Now, I'm not scared of rodents or bugs or spiders, but I don't want to have to live with them. What bothers me is that in my most vulnerable positions, I could be subjected to the whims of these creatures. For example, whilst doing my girly business in the commode area of the house, a daring mosquito got trapped and bit me on the hinnie! Whims in my most vulnerable positions.

Another vulnerable position would be when one is asleep. There you are, in your own bed. There is a feeling of safety, warmth, comfort. It's your bed. You may tip toe through the rest of your house, but in your bed, you're safe and taken care of.

Or so I thought.

One morning at approximately 2:00am, I heard the pitter patter of little feet����

����.ONE MY LEG!!!

The first sensation that I felt that had been the arousal from my REM state, was the tickle of whiskers on my ankle. It was the skitter of little feet upon my calf that jolted me to alertness. Of course I handled the situation with the calmness and maturity of a grown adult.

I screamed and kicked the rodent out of my bed.

Needless to say, I had great difficulty getting back to sleep. My fortress was compromised. My safe haven was no longer a refuge.

After my defeat of the fortress of sleep, I went to my uncle to inform him of the situation. He came over the next day and fixed the floor.

Of course, now the mouse has no way out.

<< - >>

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email: